Skip to main content

District Award of Merit

The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts in the same manner that the Silver Beaver is a national award presented by councils.

The award is available to Scouters who render service of an outstanding nature at the district level. The award is made available annually on the basis of 1 for each 25 traditional units or fraction thereof. The district need not present all the awards to which it is entitled each year. It is not appropriate to nominate a Scouter who has already received this award. A professional Scouter or other council employee may not receive this award based on employment service. However, a professional Scouter or employee who also serves as a volunteer Scouter may be eligible, based on volunteer service.


1. A nominee must be a registered Scouter.

2. A nominee must have rendered noteworthy service to youth in Scouting, outside Scouting, or both. Note: The nature and value of “noteworthy service to youth” may consist of a single plan or decisions that contributed vitally to the lives of large numbers of youth or it may have been given to a small group over an extended period of time.

3. Consideration must be given to the nominee’s Scouting position and the corresponding opportunity to render outstanding service beyond the expectations of that Scouting position.

4. The nominee’s attitude toward and cooperation with the district and/or council is to be taken into consideration. 5. Nominations cannot be considered for posthumous awards.


1. Annually, district chairmen will appoint a temporary special District Award of Merit committee of not more than five persons who will consider all candidates and make recommendations of those to receive the award to the council through the Scout executive.

2. The Scout executive will inform the district chairman of those nominations approved by the council committee.

3. The following procedure is suggested for such presentation ceremonies: a. The recipient and spouse should be in attendance at the annual meeting or recognition dinner. b. A district and/or council officer should explain the award and its significance. c. Eagle Scouts or Silver Award Venturers should be asked to escort the recipients to a place of honor at the head table or on stage. d. A suitable citation for each recipient should be read indicating what each has done in Scouting. e. The award (certificate, No. 33719; plaque, No. 17565; and lapel pin, No. 17551) may be presented at this time with appropriate congratulations. f. The only uniform insignia which accompanies this award is an embroidered overhand knot, No. 05013. g. A group picture may be taken for use in neighborhood or community newspapers (district responsibility).

The following is a list of Scouters that have earned the District Award of Merit: 

Salt Valley District Award of Merit:  

2019:    Chad Brassil, Robert Cuevas, Mitchell Locken, Kevin Potter

2018:    Kerry Florell, Philip Pickard, Lynette Saltzman, Bryan Welty

2017:    Ron Souliere, Brooks Rushman, Mark Davis, Drew Worster          

2016:    Jennifer Buehler, Dale Fries, Trev Peterson, Angie Rushman

2015:    Dennis Hayward, Jeremy Jordan, Jim Buehler, Terry Lange

2014:    Paula Rezek, Rhonda Bugna, Mike Hedrick, Mark Roper, Cathy Evans

2013:    Ray Bretthauer, Rich Lowery, Mark Schweitzer, Don Davis, Mark Beatty

2012:    Frank Cooper, Gregg Meyer, Catherine Wilson, Lee Peterson, Michael Straatman

2011:    Mary Beardslee, Bob Gettner, John Lust, Mitchell Lowery, Roger Weskamp

2010:    Saundra Freirichs, Matt Hahne, Karen Hudson, Gary Jungck, Mark Lohnes

2009:    Alenia Lohnes, Steve Schafer, Chris Settle, Dan Snow, Cindy Tobey

2008:    Brian Gebers, Bill Lang, Mary Kay Mooring, Tom Sullivan

2007:    Darrin Bertwell, Mark Danner, Kurt Kruse, Jim Wacha, Paul Woita

2006:    Karen Griffin Sieber, Mark Michaud, John Salistean, Eric Schoen, Rick Wolzen

2005:    Dan Dulaney, Dianne Egger, Melonie Schoen

2004:    Steven McCown, David Miller, Craig Reinsch, Thomas Rolfes, Ed Trehearn

2003:    Ken Dahlke, Larry Ohs, Robert Scarborough, Russell Votava



The following is a list of Scouters that have earned the District Award of Merit: 

Prairie Winds District Award of Merit:  



2017:  Laura Sysel; Odessa Span         


2015:   William Johnson ; Allen Kimminau: Jeff Steckman, Mike Shriver



2012:  Frank Cooper; 

2011:   Leesa Bartu; Gregory Clark


2009:   Lora Amick; Elmer Filipi: phillip Hallisey





2004:  Cynthia Dunekacke; Victoria Haines: Steven Robinson

2003:  Lance Larsen: Gene Weyers

2002: Norman Hofbauer; Jim Lundy

2001:  David Daake; Karen Hying: Carmen McKenny; Lonnie Pohlman

2000:  Leonard Hoskins: alisa Martin

1999:  Thomas McKenny: Alberta Wipf

1998:  Michael Wiese

1997: John Budler: Joyce Rivera

1995:  Lester Anderson, Mark Udey

1994: Dave Dickerson

1993:  Donald Franzen: Rich Sweney

1992:  Daniel Potter: Jenni Reiter

1991: Reginald Ayers: Clarence Mertins

1990: Howard Riedl

1989:  Dr Charles Wempe

1988: Bradford Ellison

1987:  Gene Mulinix

1986: Eugene Grubaugh

1985: Ramona Ellison: Gerald Schaben

1982:  Vance Teegerstrom

1981 Warren Thomsen

1980: Ed Kujath: Timothy Teegerstrom

1977: Don Ellison

1975: Elmer Filipi

1972:  Alan Whitford

The following is a list of Scouters that have earned the District Award of Merit: 

Seven Feathers  District Award of Merit:  

2019:  Paula Nichols; Troy Nichols  


2017:  Doug Billesbach; William Harkendorff       

2016:  Janet Harder: Jacob Leuenberger

2015:   William "Bill" Cover; Roxie Snethen

2014:  Charlie Cover: Brad Wilson

2013:  Chad Heath: Rick Kuenning

2012:  Peggy Nietfeld: Christy Wendland

2011:   Janene Fitzwater; Tonya Minor


2009:  Tanya Gott; Steven Woerth

2008:  Raymond Phelps: Nancy Wheeler



2005:   Perry Biaggi: Lisa Schawang: Gregory Weaver




2001:   Robin Anderson, Mitch Schwartzenbach 

1995:  Richard White

1990:  DP Jones